Goodbye Series

Update: Social Media

7 months has gone by with not having social media. I’ve filled my time with things like kayaking (when it is warm enough), reading, writing, spending time with friends and family. I feel it has been a great 7 months where I have felt freedom from my phone and from the pull of social media.

So when do I know when I am able to have social media and not get sucked in again? Do I really need that full year, or is 7 months enough? I’ve been wanting to have some social media back again, but for what reasoning? Is there really a good reason to get it back? Or is it all down hill if I decide to get it again? 

When I read back to my post in January about my reasoning for giving up social media, I am reminded of what I used social media for before. I would use it to know about people, to feel like I know them personally. Doing this left me feeling lonely and less than.  

I’d like to think things are different now. I don’t want social media to see what people are doing with their lives. If they want me to know, they will tell me about it. I don’t want social media to boast about how great my life is. I want instragam to follow people who make a difference. I want to follow my favourite fair trade companies. I want to follow heathy eating accounts and workout accounts. I want to have an instagram account that inspires people, remind them that life is a struggle and they aren’t alone. 

I pray that is what this blog has been doing. If I am able to be real about my struggles in life, my hope is that people who read my blog can know it’s okay to struggle. It’s okay to doubt, and fall. If you’re like me, it’s okay to fall flat on your face and have tons and scrapes and bruises…. and fall over and over again. It’s okay! It’s normal. We can’t get it right all the time. 

As one of my favourite sales guys says to me when I’m having a bad day “Hey, we can’t be stars every day.” He is so right! Social media has this “everyone’s life is perfect” kind of persona. I don’t want to be just another one of those accounts because my life is far from perfect. I can’t even pretend on instragram that my life is smooth sailing. Why would I want that? I want people to be able to relate to me. I want people to feel like they can be open and honest with me about how thier life really is.

Leave a Reply

